Ohio, Kentucky governors declare emergencies to help with widespread flooding

Communities declare states of emergency
Posted at 6:18 PM, Feb 23, 2018
and last updated 2018-02-25 07:46:35-05

Ohio Gov. John Kasich declared a state of emergency Saturday for 17 counties along the Ohio River and in the southern part of the state. The move allows the use of state resources in response to widespread flooding across the region.

Kasich's declaration includes Adams, Brown, Clermont and Hamilton counties in the Greater Cincinnati area.

"As the weather and flooding is expected to get worse, we're staying ahead of things by taking our readiness up to the next level and declaring an emergency where we expect the worst conditions," Kasich said in a statement. "We'll quickly add to those areas as it’s needed."

Kentucky Gov. Matt Bevin issued a similar declaration for all of the commonwealth Friday evening.

Many individual communities also issued declarations of emergency or disaster as floodwaters rose:

Covington, Kentucky and surrounding Kenton County

"City management and emergency personnel have been closely monitoring the flooding conditions in an effort to ensure the health and safety of (Covington's) residents and citizens," a Covington spokesperson wrote in a news release.

Ludlow, Kentucky

Ludlow Mayor Kenneth Wynn declared a state of emergency Saturday in the interest of "protecting the health, safety and welfare of the residents of the City of Ludlow."

Silver Grove, Kentucky

Silver Grove Mayor Neal Bedel declared a state of emergency Saturday, continuing until further notice. Also, the city is under a curfew from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. daily until the state of emergency is lifted.

Dearborn County, Indiana

Dearborn County commissioners issued a declaration of disaster Friday afternoon "until further notice." A number of roads are closed, and the county is under an "Orange Travel Advisory" -- meaning people should only drive if absolutely necessary, such as for work or emergencies.

New Richmond, Ohio

The New Richmond Village Council declared a state of emergency Thursday. In the document issuing the declaration, the council directed emergency personnel to "exercise utmost diligence" in responding to the flooding and residents to cooperate with authorities.

American Red Cross Shelters:

  • Alexandria: Red Cross Shelter currently open and operating at the Alexandria Community Center. 8236 W. Main Street, Alexandria, Kentucky. For families with pets, there will be separate sheltering available at the Campbell County Animal Shelter, 1989 Popular Ridge Road in Melbourne.
  • Lawrenceburg: The Dearborn County Health Department closed the shelter at Lawrenceburg High School, Superintendent Karl Galey said. That's because no one showed up since Friday night. If the need arises, the shelter will reopen. Any county residents who need assistance can call Drew Tenhundfeld at 812-577-4335.
  • Clermont County: A Red Cross Shelter will open Saturday, Feb. 24 by 4 p.m. at New Richmond High School. 1131 Bethel-New Richmond Road, New Richmond, Ohio.