NewsLocal NewsHamilton CountyCincinnati


These are the people vying for Amy Murray's city council seat

Posted at 8:08 AM, Feb 20, 2020
and last updated 2020-02-20 14:05:09-05

CINCINNATI — After Amy Murray announced she was stepping down from her position on Cincinnati's City Council, the question some people were asking was, "Who will take her seat on council?"

Hamilton County Republican Party Chairman Alex Triantafilou confirmed the following 17 people have filed to fill Murray's seat.

  1. Heather Couch- ran for Cincinnati School Board in 2019
  2. Jacqueline Ennis
  3. Gary Favors- special education teacher, ran for Cincinnati School Board in 2019
  4. Garret Gerard- President of the Sayler Park Village Council
  5. William Glines
  6. Steve Goodin- served as the city's attorney
  7. Scott Harper
  8. Liz Keating
  9. Gary Lee- ran for Hamilton County Sheriff
  10. Rayshon Mack- was appointed but not confirmed to be on the transit authority board of trustees
  11. Seth Maney- ran for City Council in 2017
  12. Linda Matthews
  13. Steve Mergele- ran for Cincinnati School Board in 2019
  14. Jake Samad
  15. Devoe Sherman
  16. Betsy Sunderman- Hamilton County magistrate
  17. Tommy Price

Each person up for consideration was given a questionnaire, but their responses were not immediately available.

More information is expected to be available concerning the selection for the city council seat Thursday morning.