SportsHigh School SportsOhio High School Sports


St. Xavier's Swimming and Diving Team wins the NISCA National Championship

Posted at 5:16 PM, Aug 07, 2018
and last updated 2018-08-07 17:20:33-04

SPRINGFIELD TOWNSHIP, Ohio – Members of the St. Xavier Swimming and Diving team are national champions – again.

For the fourth consecutive year, the AquaBombers finished on top of the National Interscholastic Swimming Coaches Association National dual meet rankings.  

It marks the 10th overall NISCA crown for St. X and the “four-peat” is the first by any boys’ school in at least the past 20 years, according to the school.  

The previous wins were recorded in 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2015, 2016 and 2017.

The Long Blue Lane racked up a record 6,529 points to outdistance Carmel (Ind.) – 6,372, North Allegheny (Pa.), Regis Jesuit (Colo.) – 6,065 and Southlake Carroll (Texas) – 6,064.

“We are so pleased and gratified that our guys stepped up, meet after meet, to accomplish something very special for the program,” St. X coach Tim Beerman said.

“This championship defines quality depth and in our case a tremendous amount of focus, determination and commitment by the athletes, coaches and families involved.  When you look at the list of heavy hitter teams from around the country who are factors in the NISCA results, it further highlights the achievement.”

The AquaBombers captured an Ohio record 39th state championship in February.  

The margin of victory was the largest in Ohio boys swimming and diving history.  St. X placed first in five events and picked up an additional five runner-ups to headline the scoring.  

St. Xavier is tied with Lakewood St. Edward with 56 overall Ohio team state championships. 

The NISCA also announced All-American honors this week.  Nine St. Xavier team members were part of this elite group.  The team had at least one representative in all 11 swimming events. Six of the nine earned the honor for the first time. The individuals: 

Nicholas Czepukaitis (senior, class of 2018) - 200 freestyle, 400 freestyle relay

Sam Fallon (senior) – 200 freestyle, 500 freestyle

Ansel Froass (sophomore) - 200 individual medley, 200 freestyle relay

Justin Grender (senior) - 200 medley relay, 200 freestyle, 200 individual medley, 50 freestyle, 100 freestyle, 200 freestyle relay, 100 backstroke, 400 freestyle relay

Jean-Pierre Khouzam - (sophomore) - 200 medley relay, 200 freestyle, 100 butterfly, 400 freestyle relay

Will Osterman (senior) – 500 freestyle

Nicholas Perera (senior) - 200 freestyle, 200 individual medley, 500 freestyle, 200 freestyle relay, 400 freestyle relay

Scott Sobolewski (sophomore) - 200 medley relay, 100 breaststroke

Alex Wade (senior) - 200 medley relay, 200 freestyle relay

In addition, 18 seniors garnered Academic All-American status:  Teddy Bayer, Carter Creviston, Nicholas Czepukaitis, Luke DiGiacomo, Carter Dwyer, Sam Fallon, Justin Grender, Erich Guenther, Sean Hergenrother, Scott Holcomb, Josh Knapke, William Lopez, Nicholas Perera, Nicholas Pfeifer, Luke Prather, Robert Prophater, Brian Robertson, Alex Wade.

Swimming World Magazine will release its mythical rankings in September.  St. Xavier was the national champion in 2017.