SportsHigh School Sports


Greater Catholic League South division announces its 2020 all-star football teams

Posted at 11:30 AM, Nov 11, 2020
and last updated 2020-11-11 14:40:40-05

CINCINNATI — The Greater Catholic League South division announced its 2020 all-star football teams on Wednesday morning.

First- and second-team members of the team, along with winners of the categorical awards, were voted on by league coaches at a special meeting Nov. 8.

St. Xavier senior wide receiver Liam Clifford, La Salle senior quarterback Zach Branam and Elder junior Drew Ramsey were named the GCL South players of the year.

St. X coach Steve Specht, who led the Bombers to an outright GCL South title (3-0 in the conference), was named coach of the year.

Clifford, who is verbally committed to Penn State, is the Bombers' all-time receptions leader. He has 68 receptions for 1,084 yards and 12 touchdowns this season.

Clifford has 162 catches for 2,532 yards and 30 touchdowns at the varsity level, according to the GCL.

Clifford had 12 receptions for 300 yards and two touchdowns earlier this season in a 62-37 win over visiting Cleveland St. Ignatius Oct. 3.

St. X (9-2) plays Pickerington Central (11-0) in the Division I state final at 7 p.m. Friday at Fortress Obetz near Columbus.

Branam has thrown for 1,387 yards and 10 touchdowns this season. He's rushed for 1,025 yards and 14 touchdowns for the Lancers (8-2), who play Massillon Washington (9-1) in a Division II state semifinal Friday night at Marysville High School.

In last week’s 35-10 regional final win at Winton Woods, Branam rushed for 209 yards and four scores while also throwing a TD pass.

Ramsay rushed for 721 yards and 14 touchdowns this season for the Panthers (5-4). He also caught 55 passes for 762 yards and eight touchdowns. He also is the Panthers’ punter and was even used on defense in the backfield in necessary situations.

In Elder’s first-round playoff win against Fairfield, Ramsey rushed for 188 yards and four touchdowns while also catching six passes for 120 yards to help the Panthers rally from 11 down in the fourth quarter for a 42-39 victory.

Specht, who led St. Xavier to state titles in 2005, 2007 and 2016, has his team one win away from the school’s fourth crown in football. The Bombers have not lost to an Ohio team this season.

St. X was ranked No. 6 in the season's final Associated Press D-I state poll.

2020 All-GCL South football teams
First team offense
(Name, school, position, class, height, weight)
Zach Branam, La Salle, QB, Senior, 5-10, 200
Liam Clifford, St. Xavier, WR, Senior, 6-2, 190
Cameron Collins, St. Xavier, OL, Junior, 6-4, 260
Landon Fickell, Moeller, OL, Senior, 6-5, 270
Paul Haywood, La Salle, OL, Junior, 6-3, 322
Josh Kattus, Moeller, TE, Junior, 6-4, 245
Charles Kellom, St. Xavier, RB, Junior, 6-0, 183
Brogan McCaughey, St. Xavier, QB, Junior, 6-1, 185
Scott Nieman, Elder, WR, Senior, 6-6, 215
Brian Parker, St. Xavier, OL, Junior, 6-5, 276
Jalen Patterson, St. Xavier, WR, Senior, 6-1, 193
Austin Rack, La Salle, OL, Junior, 6-1, 270
Drew Ramsey, Elder, WR, Junior, 6-1, 200
Ryan Reynolds, La Salle, OL, Junior, 6-2, 275
TJ Rotello, Moeller, RB, Senior, 5-11, 195
Cole Schneider, La Salle, TE, Senior, 5-11, 169

First team defense
(Name, school, position, class, height, weight)
Gio Albanese, St. Xavier, DL, Senior, 6-0, 278
Sam Buerkle, St. Xavier, DL, Junior, 6-4, 246
Arron Byrd, La Salle, DL, Senior, 5-10, 207
Wyatt Bullock, Moeller, DL, Senior, 6-2, 270
Gabe Dubois, St. Xavier, DB, Senior, 5-9, 165
Matthew Devine, St. Xavier, LB, Senior, 6-0, 220
Jaylen Johnson, La Salle, DB, Senior, 6-3, 210
Jaymar Hargrove-Mundy, La Salle, DB, Senior, 5-10, 200
Eli Kirk, St. Xavier, DB, Junior, 6-0, 184
Grant Lyons, St. Xavier, LB, Junior, 6-2, 220
Gaillin Mitchell, Elder, DL, Senior, 6-1, 230
Nate Pabst, Moeller, DL, Senior, 6-5, 255
JJ Ruffin, La Salle, LB, Junior, 6-3, 227
Aden Seger, La Salle, DL, Senior, 6-1, 225
Devonta Smith, La Salle, DB, Senior, 6-0, 220

Second team offense
(Name, school, position, class, height, weight)
Drew Beckenhaupt, Elder, OL, Senior, 6-4, 285
Tennel Bryant, Moeller, WR, Sophomore, 5-7, 140
Ben Hambelton, Elder, QB, Junior, 6-1, 190
Cooper Johnson, Elder, RB, Senior, 5-8, 185
Daylon Fischer, La Salle, OL, Senior, 6-0, 260
Joe Folzenlogen, Elder, OL, Senior, 6-3, 240
Brody Koch, St. Xavier, OL, Junior, 6-2, 250
David Larkins, Elder, TE, Senior, 6-5, 235
Gi’Bran Payne, La Salle, RB, Junior, 5-10, 200
Gavin Robbins, La Salle, OL, Senior, 6-3, 275
Fredrick Sturgis, Moeller, OL, Senior, 6-3, 275
Jack Tucker, Elder, OL, Senior, 6-2, 250

Second team defense
(Name, school, position, class, height, weight)
Ivan Anderson, Moeller, LB, Junior, 6-0, 204
Ryan Anderson, Moeller, DB, Senior, 5-8, 170
Max Roberto-Bailey, La Salle, LB, Senior, 6-2, 215
Deago Brumfield, La Salle, DB, Senior, 5-9, 172
Nicholas Paff, Elder, LB, Junior, 5-9, 180
Deuce Shaw, Moeller, LB, Senior, 6-0, 205
Andrew Spinney, Elder, LB, Junior, 6-0, 210
Austin Wandstrat, Elder, DB, Senior, 6-0, 190
Michael Whitehouse, St. Xavier, DL, Senior, 6-4, 227

Special awards
Players of the year
Zach Branam, La Salle
Liam Clifford, St. Xavier
Drew Ramsey, Elder
Coach of the year
Steve Specht, St. Xavier

Offensive skill player of the year
Scott Nieman, Elder

Tight end of the year
Josh Kattus, Moeller

All-purpose player of the year
Devonte Smith, La Salle

Co-offensive linemen of the year
Landon Fickell, Moeller
Brian Parker, St. Xavier

Defensive lineman of the year
Gio Albanese, St. Xavier
Linebacker of the year
Matthew Devine, St. Xavier

Co-defensive backs of the year
Jaylen Johnson, La Salle
Jaymar Hargrove-Mundy, La Salle

Kicker of the year
Mason Rohmiller, St. Xavier

Punter of the year
Logan Forcum, La Salle