SportsHigh School Sports


Eighteen Greater Cincinnati high school athletes win college scholarships from OHSAA

Posted at 1:20 AM, Jun 25, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-25 01:37:12-04

Eighteen Greater Cincinnati graduating student-athletes won college scholarships from the Ohio High School Athletic Association.

Ian Mikesell of Mariemont and Andrew Nieman of La Salle won $1,000 awards as OHSAA Scholar-Athletes from the Southwest District while the others received between $500 and $1,000 as Southwest District Athletic Board Scholar-Athletes.

The local winners are:

OHSAA Scholar-Athletes
Ian Mikesell, Mariemont
Andrew Nieman, La Salle

Southwest District Athletic Board Scholar-Athletes
Hailey Clayborn, Clinton-Massie
Zachary Gemmer, Lebanon
Rachel Gillum, Springboro
Simon Heys, Wilmington
Ryan Lienhart, Madeira
Lexi Magenheim, Indian Hill
Katherine Overbey, Mariemont
Megan Palmer, Lebanon
Samuel Risma, Sycamore
Kyle Runk, Lockland
Rachelle Soh, Ursuline
Kyle Trischler, Elder
Elizabeth Van Den Brink, Sycamore
Pranav Viswanathan, Mason
Chloe Webb, Cincinnati Country Day
Mia Wyrick, Madeira

The OHSAA awarded a total of $170,750 in college scholarships to 199 recent graduates. Each district had six $1,000 winners, including an OHSAA Ethnic Minority Scholarship winner.

SEE the complete list of OHSAA scholarship winners.

Winners were selected by the OHSAA’s six District Athletic Boards based on a point system that rewards students for grade point average, class rank, ACT or SAT score, varsity letters earned, and individual and team athletic honors.

The number of scholarship recipients from each district is based upon the number of schools within the district.

Individuals who receive athletic scholarships from NCAA Division I or II institutions or appointees to military academies are not eligible.

The OHSAA’s annual college scholarship program is now in its 27th year.