Former Reds managers Lou Piniella, Davey Johnson make Hall of Fame ballot

Pair will be considered by an Eras Committee
Posted at 5:19 PM, Oct 03, 2016
and last updated 2016-10-03 19:21:42-04

CINCINNATI - Pete Rose isn't getting on Baseball's Hall of Fame ballot, but Lou Piniella and Davey Johnson are.

Those two former Reds managers will be up for election in December, the Hall announced Monday.

Piniella managed the Reds to their last World Series championship in 1990. Johnson led the Reds to the 1995 National League Championship Series, where they were swept by the Braves.

A 16-member committee for the Today's Game Era will vote on them and eight other nominees – former players Harold Baines, Albert Belle, Will Clark, Orel Hershiser and Mark McGwire,  Braves exec John Schuerholz, former commissioner and Brewers owner Bud Selig and former Yankees owner George Steinbrenner.

Piniellamanaged the Reds for three years (1990-92), taking over after Rose was kicked out of baseball for betting on the Reds.  Piniella also managed the Yankees, Mariners, Rays and Cubs during 23 seasons, winning 1,835 games – good for 14th on the all-time list.  He led the 2001 Mariners to an American League record 116 victories and guided his clubs to seven postseason appearances. He was named Manager of the Year in his league three times (1995, 2001, 2008).

Piniella took a new job with the Reds - senior advisor - last February.

Johnson took over as Reds manager when Tony Peres was fired 44 games into the 1993 season and stayed in the job for two more years. He led the 1986 Mets to the World Series title and three other teams to the playoffs in 17 seasons. He also managed  the Orioles and Dodgers, posting 1,372 wins. His winning percentage ranks 12th. He was named his league’s Manager of the Year twice (1997, 2012.)

The Hall of Fame has four Eras Committees that vote on managers, umpires, execs and owners as well as former players rejected by the Baseball Writers Association of America. The Today's Game Committee votes on candidates who made their greatest impact from 1988 to the present.

RELATED: See how the Eras Committees work.

Rose can't be considered while he's banned from baseball, but McGwire can even though he admitted using streroids. McGwire, who broke the single-season home run record with 70 in 1998, still works in the game, too, as a Padres coach.

RELATED: Rose's attorneys beg Hall of Fame to let him on the ballot

The members of the Today's Game Committee - Hall of Famers, baseball execs and writers/broadcasters/historians - will be announced later this fall.

The 10 nominees were chosen by the BBWAA-appointed Historical Overview Historical Overview Committee, comprised of 11 veteran historians: Bob Elliott (Toronto Sun); Jim Henneman (formerly Baltimore Sun); Rick Hummel (St. Louis Post-Dispatch); Steve Hirdt (Elias Sports Bureau); Bill Madden (formerly New York Daily News); Jack O’Connell (BBWAA); Jim Reeves (formerly Fort Worth Star-Telegram); Tracy Ringolsby (; Glenn Schwarz (formerly San Francisco Chronicle); Dave van Dyck (Chicago Tribune); and Mark Whicker (Los Angeles News Group).

SEE more information on the nominees at