GUIDE: Who's running in Ky. primaries?

Posted at 4:05 PM, May 16, 2016

While the nation will be watching Tuesday whether Kentucky Dems go with Hillary or feel the Bern, Bluegrass voters will choose a number of other state and local nominees in both parties, as well, along with a few non-partisan contested races in Northern Kentucky.

Kentucky Republicans already stood behind GOP front-runner Donald Trump during the party’s first ever caucus in the state, a process that yielded long lines, traffic delays, and had many voters (and even some officials) confused.

Then-GOP hopeful and sitting U.S. Senator from Kentucky, Rand Paul, convinced the party to hold a caucus for the state’s presidential primary so that he could run simultaneously for the Republican presidential bid and for his current Senate seat.

On Tuesday, voters should see a process much more familiar.

Kentucky has a closed primary, which means voters must be registered as a party member in order to participate in any partisan primary. Independent voters can still participate in non-partisan city and judicial primaries.

CLICK HERE to find your polling station.

So Who's Running?

* indicates incumbent

President of the United States - Democratic

Hillary Clinton
Roque Rocky De La Fuente
Martin O’Malley
Bernard “Bernie” Sanders

U.S. Senate - Democratic

Jim Gray / Lexington
Rory Houlihan / Winchester
Jeff Kender / Phelps
Tom Recktenwald / Louisville
Grant T. Short / Owensboro
Sellus Wilder / Frankfort

U.S. Senate - Republican

James R. Gould / Lexington
Rand Paul* / Bowling Green
Stephen Howard Slaughter / Louisville

Kentucky State Representative 64th District - Democratic

Lucas Deaton / Independence
Larry Varney / Cold Spring

Kentucky State Representative 64th District - Republican

Sean P. Fitzgerald / Independence
Kimberly Poore Moser / Taylor Mill

Kentucky State Representative 70th District - Republican

James E. Johnson / Brooksville
John VanMeter / Maysville

City of Covington Mayor (Non-partisan)

Sherry Carran*
Alfonse J. Mele II
Joseph U. Meyer
Matthew T. Winkler

Covington City Commissioner (Non-partisan)

Christi Blair
Tim Downing
John J. Flesch
Robert Horine
Jordan Huizenga
Brandon Mims
Clayton Shull
Stuart Davis Warren
Bill Wells
Michelle Williams

Newport City Commissioner (Non-partisan)

Matthew Cline
Rachel Comte
Beth Fennell
Thomas L. Guidugli
John C. Hayden
Nichole Hornback Hayden
Bob McCray
Frank Peluso
Ken Rechtin

Calvin Sidle is running uncontested for the Democratic nomination in the race for U.S. Representative 4th District. Incumbent Thomas Massie is running unopposed for the Republican nomination in that race.

State Senator Chris McDaniel, R-Taylor Mill, is running unopposed for the Republican nomination in the race for his 23rd district seat.