NewsGovernmentElections Local


Election 2021: Where you can vote, what are the big races, and more

Posted at 2:54 PM, Nov 01, 2021

Tuesday, Nov. 2, is Election Day in Ohio. Polls will open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m. For the latest 2021 local election news and results, click here.

Where do I vote? Find your local polling place:

What is on my local ballot? Find local ballots at your local county Board of Elections website:

To read the voter ID requirements in Ohio, visit the Ohio Secretary of State website.

Being an off-year election, almost all races are local. The exception is the Ohio 15th Congressional District special election between Democratic State Rep. Allison Russo against Republican Mike Carey. This seat was formerly held by Steve Stivers. Part of the 15th Congressional District is in Clinton County.

The Cincinnati mayor's race is between Hamilton County Clerk of Courts Aftab Pureval and Cincinnati City Councilman David Mann. They are running to replace John Cranley, who is finishing his second term after being elected in 2013.

The Cincinnati City Council race had 43 potential candidates file in August. City council candidates are non-partisan, but some are endorsed. Every council seat is up for election this year and only one incumbent is running (Greg Landsman). This is the list of endorsed candidates:

  • Charter Committee: Kevin Flynn, Jackie Frondorf, Bill Frost, Steve Goodin, Galen Gordon, Liz Keating, Jim Tarbell, John J. William
  • Candidates with Political Endorsement: Tom Brinkman Jr., Jeff Cramerding, Steve Goodin, Reggie Harris, Mark Jeffreys, Scotty Johnson, Jan-Michele Lemon Kearney, Liz Keating, Greg Landsman, Phillip O’Neal, Meeka Owens, Victoria Parks, Betsy Sundermann.

Hamilton County saw over 23,000 early votes. Board of Elections Director Sherry Poland says this year's ballot items are similar to 2017, when Hamilton County had 31% turnout.

"We're expecting a similar turnout. We hope for a higher turnout. We're prepared and ready if it is a little bit higher of a turnout," Poland said.