LIST: These communities are under snow emergencies

Posted: 4:40 PM, Feb 06, 2018
Updated: 2018-02-07 17:55:45Z

Several Tri-State communities have declared snow emergencies due to incoming winter weather. 


  • Elsmere -- Snow emergency
  • Independence -- Snow emergency 
  • Kenton County -- Snow emergency 
  • Lakeside Park -- Snow emergency
  • Park Hills -- Snow emergency 
  • Villa Hills -- Snow emergency 
  • Bracken County -- Level 1 snow emergency 


  • Springfield Township -- Snow emergency until 8 p.m. Wednesday.
  • Clinton County -- Level 2 snow emergency 

WCPO will update this story as more communities declare snow emergencies. 

Go here for your full forecast .

What emergency levels mean:

There are three levels of snow emergencies. In general, vehicles must be removed from public roads during a snow emergency. While there may be slight variations from one community to the next, these are the general definitions:

LEVEL 1: Roadways are hazardous with blowing and drifting snow. Roads may also be icy. Drive carefully. Motorists must move cars from snow emergency routes.

LEVEL 2: Roadways are hazardous with blowing and drifting snow. Only those who feel it is necessary to drive should be out on the roads. Contact your employer to see if you should report to work.

LEVEL 3: All roadways are closed to non-emergency personnel. No one else should be out during these conditions unless it is absolutely necessary to travel or a personal emergency exists. All employees should contact their employer to see if they should report to work. Those traveling on the roads may subject themselves to arrest.