Jones, Peerman make eight Bengals in Pro Bowl

Posted at 4:05 PM, Jan 26, 2016
and last updated 2016-01-26 16:05:15-05

CINCINNATI – You know your NFL team had a good year when eight players make the Pro Bowl.

The addition of cornerback/returner Adam Jones and special teams player Cedric Peerman on Tuesday gives the Bengals their second-best representation in the all-star game, behind the nine players selected off the  Super Bowl XXIII team.

It’s the first Pro Bowl nod for Jones, a ninth-year pro, and Peerman, coming off his sixth year,

Jones ranked second on the team in interceptions (three) and third in passes defensed (12). He also averaged 23.5 yards on 10 kickoff returns and 11.2 yards on 16 punt returns. Jones replaces Patrick Peterson of Arizona (injured).

Peerman, named as a special teams coverage player and blocker, led the Bengals in special teams tackles for the second straight year. He replaces Matthew Slater of New England (injured).

The six Bengals named previously to the Pro Bowl are DT Geno Atkins, WR A.J. Green, TE Tyler Eifert, S Reggie Nelson, OT Andrew Whitworth and DE Carlos Dunlap.   

There would be nine Bengals in the Pro Bowl but QB Andy Dalton has not been medically cleared to play. Dalton would have been added as a first alternate.

The Pro Bowl will be played Sunday at 7 p.m. (ET) at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu (ESPN).

Instead of the AFC vs. NFC format, players will be assigned to opposing teams during the 2016 Pro Bowl Draft on Wednesday at  8 p.m. ET. (ESPN2).