NewsThe Who: The Night That Changed Rock


WCPO wins Edward R. Murrow Award for podcast on The Who Riverfront Coliseum concert documentary

Posted at 4:08 PM, May 12, 2020
and last updated 2020-05-12 20:36:50-04

WCPO 9 News won a 2020 regional Edward R. Murrow Award for Best Podcast.

WCPO's winning podcast was The Who: The Night That Changed Rock. The podcast was part of WCPO's unprecedented look at the 40th anniversary of the night 11 young people were killed outside of Riverfront Coliseum while trying to enter a concert by the rock band The Who.

WCPO won in the Large Market Television division of a region that includes Ohio, Indiana, Michigan and Illinois.

The podcast featured WCPO 9 News Anchor Tanya O'Rourke narrating the story of that tragic night, the aftermath and The Who's plans to return to honor the survivors and victims. WCPO multimedia producer Brian Niesz pieced the compelling narrative together using audio from interviews O'Rourke conducted that were recorded by WCPO photographers Michael Benedic and Emily Maxwell.

O'Rourke and WCPO 9 News Manager of Investigative Content Hillary Lake were the co-exectuive producers on The Who: The Night That Changed Rock.

The podcast was one way to experience this story -- along with text stories and two different documentaries.

The Murrow Awards honor the best journalism in the country. They are awarded by the Radio Television Digital News Association each year.