Trump declares disaster for Kentucky counties affected by flood

Trump declares disaster for Kentucky counties affected by flood
Posted at 12:04 PM, Apr 27, 2018
and last updated 2018-04-27 12:14:23-04

President Donald Trump declared a presidential disaster Friday for 34 Kentucky counties impacted by Ohio River flooding this winter, opening up funds to pay for repairing damage. 

Kentucky Gov. Matt Bevin asked Trump on April 12 to issue a disaster declaration for 35 counties affected by flooding that occurred from Feb. 21 to March 21. 

“This federal assistance will provide more than one-quarter of our counties with important resources as they continue recovery efforts, and I am appreciative to our local and state emergency management teams for their assistance throughout this process,” Bevin said in a statement. 

The Daily Independent cites a release from Bevin's office that says the late February flooding caused an estimated $24.7 million in damages statewide, with 75 percent of that damage inflicted on highways, bridges and local infrastructure. Four Kentucky residents died.

Campbell, Carroll, Gallatin, Grant and Kenton counties were among those receiving assistance.