Kentucky 2023 primary election: Who is running and what you need to know

Here are the winners in Kentucky primaries
Posted at 10:55 PM, May 12, 2023

FRANKFORT, Ky. — Kentuckians will vote on multiple statewide races in Tuesday's primary election. Here's what you need to know before going to the polls.

What day is the Kentucky primary?

The primary is Tuesday, May 16. Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. If you are in line at 6 p.m., you will be able to cast your vote.

Are there ways to vote early?

Early voting is no longer available for Kentuckians.

Where do I vote?

If you're voting on Election Day, you can find your polling place here.

What do I need to bring with me to vote?

All voters must show a valid form of identification to cast a ballot. Examples of valid photo IDs include a driver's license, military ID, student ID, Kentucky government ID or free state-issued ID card. If you do not have a photo ID, you can sign a voter affirmation form and present your social security card, food stamp ID card, credit or debit card with your name or any other ID card that has their name and photo.

What is on my ballot?

Perhaps the biggest race on the ballot is for Kentucky governor. Here are the candidates for both the Republican and Democrat primary.


  • Andy Beshear (incumbent)
  • Peppy Martin
  • Geoff Young


  • Daniel Cameron
  • Jacob Clark
  • David Cooper
  • Kelly Craft
  • Eric Deters
  • Bob DeVore
  • Mike Harmon
  • Alan Keck
  • Dennis Ray Ormerod
  • Ryan Quarles
  • Johnny Ray Price
  • Robbie C. Smith

Also on the ballot for Republican voters is secretary of state. Candidates are:

  • Michael Adams (incumbent)
  • Stephen L. Knipper
  • Allen Maricle

Republican candidates for Kentucky auditor include:

  • Derek Petteys
  • Allison Ball

Republican voters will also select between the following candidates for state treasurer:

  • Andrew Cooperrider
  • Mark H. Metcalf
  • O.C. "OJ" Oleka

Both Republicans and Democrats will vote on candidates for agriculture commissioner. Here are the candidates for both parties.

  • Mikael Malone
  • Sierra J. Enlow


  • Jonathan Shell
  • Richard Heath

For more information on the Kentucky primary election, click here.