Indiana's 2022 primary: What to know ahead of Tuesday's election

Who's on Ohio's May 3 primary election ballot
Posted at 7:00 PM, May 02, 2022

INDIANAPOLIS — Hoosiers will return to the polls Tuesday to vote in primary elections for all nine U.S. Representatives, one U.S. Senator and hundreds of local officials.

Where do I vote?

Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday, May 3. Anyone in line by 6 p.m. will be permitted to vote. Many counties allow people to vote at any polling location instead of one specific site. To find your voter status and polling location, click here.

What must I bring with me?

All voters will need to bring a government-issued photo ID that displays a name connected to a voter registration record. The ID must still be current or have expired after the 2020 general election. In most cases, the Indiana Secretary of State said an Indiana driver's license, photo ID card, military ID or U.S. passport will work.

Who is on the ballot?

U.S. Senate:

  • Democrat Thomas M. McDermott Jr.
  • Republican Todd Young

U.S. House - District 6:

  • George Thomas Holland
  • Cynthia (Cinde) Wirth


  • James Dean Alspach
  • Greg Pence

U.S. House - District 9:

  • Isak Asare
  • D. Liam Dorris
  • Matt Fyfe


  • Stu Barnes-Israel
  • J. Michael Davisson
  • Dan Heiwig
  • Erin Houchin
  • D. Eric Schansberg
  • Mike Sodrel
  • Bill J. Thomas
  • Brian Tibbs

County council members, circuit court clerks, state house and state Senate candidates are also on the ballot. Visit Indiana's Voter Portal and click Who's on the Ballot to see what your exact ballot will look like Tuesday.

Ohio's 2022 primary election: Who is running and what to know
Indiana AG Todd Rokita files lawsuit against Black Lives Matter global chapter
Lauren Hill Memorial Park opens to honor inspirational Mount St. Joseph basketball player