NewsNational News


CNN announces 20-person field for next Democratic debates

Posted at 8:48 PM, Jul 18, 2019

CNN conducted a draw on Thursday for the next Democratic presidential debates, which will be held in Detroit on July 30 and 31.

Here is who will participate:

Night 1:

Gov. Steve Bullock
Rep. Tim Ryan
Gov. John Hickenlooper
Rep. John Delaney
Marianne Williamson
Sen. Amy Klobuchar
Rep. Beto O’Rourke
Mayor Pete Buttigieg
Sen. Elizabeth Warren
Sen. Bernie Sanders

Night 2:

Mayor Bill DeBlasio
Sen. Michael Bennet
Rep. Tulsi Gabbard
Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand
Gov. Jay Inslee
Sen. Cory Booker
Andrew Yang
Mayor Julian Castro
Sen. Kamala Harris
Vice President Joe Biden

The draws were held in three section to ensure that the top candidates were spread evenly between the two nights. Warren, Sanders, Harris and Biden were put into their own drawing, so two of the four would appear each night. DeBlasio, Bennet, Gabbard, Gillibrand, Inslee, Bullock, Delaney, Williamson, Hickenlooper and Ryan were placed in the first tier of candidates, with 5 drawn for each night. Booker, Yang, Castro, Buttigieg, Klobuchar and O'Rourke were in a middle tier.