NewsLocal News


Winners announced in 2018 Ohio Associated Press Media awards

Posted at 7:06 PM, May 04, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-04 19:06:14-04

COLUMBUS — Radio and television stations from across Ohio gathered in Columbus, awaiting with bated breath, to learn which stations and journalists would be honored in the 2018 Ohio Associated Press Media Editors broadcast competition.

While radio and television stations in Columbus, Toledo and Kent were named the best in the state, WCPO took home several first- and second-place awards itself.

Twenty- four broadcasters submitted 327 entries in the contest, which featured news, sports and weather reporting as well as features, documentaries and photography from 2018.

WCPO staff brought home first place in the following categories:

  • Best Use of Photography category, for Breanna Molloy and Kevin Necessary's work on "Observatory."
  • Best Documentary or Series for Breanna Molloy and Kevin Necessary's work on "Living in the Shadows: The Documentary". You can check out parts one and two here.
  • Best Continuing Coverage for coverage on the Pike County Massacre arrests.
  • Best Investigative Reporting for Craig Cheatham and Lot Tan on "Forcing the Peace"
  • Best Digital Project for Kevin Necessary's work on "Living in the Shadows"

The WCPO team also took home first place for Best Web Presence, and second place for Best Newscast.

Also Saturday, two journalists were inducted into the Ohio APME Hall of Fame for exceptional distinction and honor in the field of journalism: Tom McKee of WCPO-TV in Cincinnati and John Erickson of the Dayton Daily News.