NewsLocal NewsHamilton CountyCincinnati


Incumbents win Cincinnati City Council seats

Posted at 8:18 PM, Nov 07, 2017
and last updated 2017-11-07 23:59:59-05

CINCINNATI -- Voters re-elected six incumbents to the Cincinnati City Council and elected three new council members Tuesday, though the race for the ninth seat appeared too close to definitively call.

With all 188 precincts reporting, P.G. Sittenfeld led the race once again with 38,594 votes. 

David Mann followed with 34,741 votes. Chris Seelbach had 29,666. Wendell Young had 27.353. Christopher Smitherman had 26,501. Tamaya Dennard had 25,145. Greg Landsman had 24,356. Amy Murray had 23,321. 

Jeff Pastor appeared to have won the ninth council seat with 21,339 votes, but Michelle Dillingham in 10th place trailed him by just 317 votes. 

Sittenfeld was first elected to the council in 2011, then making him the youngest councilmember in city history. He also received the most votes when he ran for re-election in 2013. He made an unsuccessful bid for the U.S. Senate seat held by Rob Portman last year, despite bringing in celebrity endorsements from actors like Jonathan Banks of "Breaking Bad" and Mark Hamill.

Mann, the current vice mayor, has held several political offices, including stints as mayor and in Congress. He previously served 18 years on the council and ran again in 2013. 

Seelbach was first elected in 2011 and re-elected in 2013. He holds the distinction of being the first openly-gay politician elected to the council and was awarded the Harvey Milk "Champion of Change" award in 2013. 

Young was appointed to the council in 2010. He was a police officer for 25 years after graduating from Hughes High School in 1963 and serving in the Air Force, according to his bio. He also taught briefly at Aiken High School and held several public service jobs. 

Smitherman was first elected to the council in 2003. He lost a bid for re-election in 2005, but won a seat on the council again in 2011 and 2013. 

Dennard is a newcomer to the council seat, but not to City Hall. She previously worked in Sittenfeld's office and worked on his unsuccessful Senate campaign. She currently works for a nonprofit. 

Landsman sits on the board of the Mount Washington Community Council. He has helped lead the Cincinnati Preschool Promise initiative and runs a "philanthropic venture fund" that provides books to economically disadvantaged children. He ran unsuccessfully for council in 2013. 

Murray finished last among council incumbents. She also won her seat in 2013 with the lowest number of votes by a winner. She's the only Republican currently sitting on the council. 

Pastor is a veteran and the executive director of an epilepsy foundation. If he does win the seat, he joins Murray as a second Republican on the council. 

Following them was Dillingham with 21,022 votes. Ozie Davis had 18,019. Lesley Jones had 17,656. Laure Quinlivan had 16,308. Derek Bauman had 16,157. Henry Frondorf had 10,389. Seth Maney had 9,891. Brian Garry had 8,792. Kelli Prather had 6,882. Tamie Sullivan had 6,023. Tonya Dumas had 5,913. Erica Black-Johnson had 5,306. Cristina Burcica had 3,973. Manuel Foggie had 3,402. Write-in candidate Dadrien Washington had 119. 

Click here to see all the election results.