Actions

Wisconsin Supreme Court rejects Green bid for ballot access

Wisconsin Supreme Court rejects Green bid for ballot access
Posted at 7:41 PM, Sep 14, 2020
and last updated 2020-09-14 19:41:14-04

MADISON, Wis. (AP) — The Wisconsin Supreme Court has rejected a request by the Green Party presidential candidate to be added to the state's November ballot.

Wednesday's 4-3 ruling said the Greens' request came too late for any relief "that would not cause confusion and undue damage" just seven weeks before the election.

Democrats had feared that Howie Hawkins' third-party campaign could siphon votes from Joe Biden and help Donald Trump in a state Trump narrowly carried four years ago.

Adding Hawkins to the ballot also threatened delay and chaos in the effort to mail out absentee ballots to more than 1 million voters who have already requested them.

Rapper Kanye West is still hoping to be added to the Wisconsin ballot.

  • Ohio
  • Kentucky
  • Indiana
Ohio

Key Dates and Deadlines In Ohio

Mon, Oct. 5: Voter Registration Deadline
Tue, Oct. 6: Early Voting Begins
Sat, Oct. 31: Request Absentee/Mail-In Ballot Deadline
Mon, Nov. 2: Absentee/Mail-In Postmark by Date
Tues, Nov. 3: In-Person Voting
Fri, Nov. 13: Absentee/Mail-In Delivered By Date

Kentucky

Key Dates and Deadlines in Kentucky

Mon, Oct. 5: Voter Registration Deadline
Fri, Oct. 9: Request Absentee/Mail-In Ballot Deadline
Tue, Oct. 13: Early Voting Begins
Mon, Nov. 2: Absentee/Mail-In Postmark by Date
Tues, Nov. 3: In-Person Voting
Fri, Nov. 6: Absentee/Mail-In Delivered By Date

Indiana

Key Dates and Deadlines in Indiana

Mon, Oct. 5: Voter Registration Deadline
Tue, Oct. 6: Early Voting Begins
Thur, Oct. 22: Request Absentee/Mail-In Ballot Deadline
Thur, Oct. 22: Absentee/Mail-In Postmark by Date
Tues, Nov. 3: In-Person Voting