EntertainmentLocal A&E


The National reveal Homecoming music festival daily lineup, additional acts

The National reveal Homecoming music festival daily lineup, additional acts
Posted at 10:02 AM, Feb 14, 2018

CINCINNATI – The National revealed five more acts that will play at the inaugural Homecoming Music Festival on April 28-29.

On Wednesday, the indie-rock band announced Mouse on Mars, Sam Amidon, Spank Rock, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith and Lisa Hannigan will join The National, Father John Misty, Feist, Future Islands, The Breeders, Lord Huron, Julien Baker, Moses Sumney, Alvvays, and Big Thief on two stages at Smale Riverfront Park.

The National includes Matt Berninger, Aaron Dessner, Bryce Dessner, Scott Devendorf and Bryan Devendorf. The band formed in Cincinnati in 1999.

Organizers also revealed the daily lineup for the festival:

Saturday, April 28

  • The National
  • Father John Misty
  • The Breeders
  • Lord Huron
  • Alvvays
  • Mouse on Mars
  • Sam Amidon
  • Spank Rock
  • Lanz Projects
  • Electric Counterpoint & Garcia Counterpoint performed by Bryce Dessner

Sunday, April 29

  • Feist
  • Future Islands
  • Moses Sumney
  • Big Thief
  • Julien Baker
  • Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith
  • Lisa Hannigan
  • Ben Sloan
  • Artist-in-Residence (featuring A Delicate Motor & Bryan Devendorf)
  • Haven Counterpoint performed by Bryce & Aaron Dessne.
  • The National will also perform its 2007 break-through album "Boxer" in its entirety that day.

A variety of MusicNow music festival events at various Cincinnati venues will coincide with the Homecoming concert. Bryce Dessner launched MusicNow in 2006. The 2018 MusicNow festival takes place April 27-29.

MusicNow, which is a separate ticketed event, kicks off Friday at the Cincinnati Masonic Center with performances by Mouse on Mars, Red Bird Hollow (Bryce & Aaron Dessner), Sam Amidon, Lisa Hannigan, Spank Rock, Kristín Anna Valtýsdóttir and other special guests.

MusicNow continues on Saturday with performances inside the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center. Performers include Crash Ensemble performing Hans Abrahamsen’s “Schnee,” the Tyshawn Sorey Trio and Yuki Numata Resnick. Those performances are open to Homecoming festival ticket holders.

MusicNow concludes Sunday at the Freedom Center with performances by Eighth Blackbird with Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Bryce Dessner performing the music of Julius Eastman, Frederic Rzewski, Will Oldham, Bryce Dessner and the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra String Trio performing Andrew Norman’s “The Companion Guide to Rome” and the Crash Ensemble. Again, these performances are open to Homecoming festival ticket holders.

Tickets to the MusicNow festival go on sale at 10 a.m. Friday at musicnowfestival.org. Two-day passes for the Homecoming Music Festival are currently on sale and daily ticket options will be available starting at 10 a.m. Friday at ntlhomecoming.com.