Ohio reveals where new 70 mph speed limit applies

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) - The Ohio Department of Transportation has revealed which sections of rural interstate highway will have a higher speed limit of 70 mph instead of 65 mph starting July 1.

The department said Tuesday that the limit will increase on more than 570 miles of interstate highway, including a portion of I-71 just north of the Jeremiah Morrow Bridge headed toward Columbus. No other parts of the Tri-State will see their speed limits increase.

The state-wide increase applies to parts of Interstates 70, 71, 75, 76, 77 and 90 but doesn't include sections of those roads in major metropolitan areas and a few smaller cities along the way.

More than 300 signs will be made to alert drivers about the new limits.

A 70-mph limit already is in effect for the Ohio Turnpike stretching across the northern part of the state.

You can see a map of the new zones below or at http://goo.gl/Zjqwx.




Print this article Back to Top