Winners of Outstanding Women of Northern Kentucky awards announced

ERLANGER, Ky. - The 2013 winners of the Outstanding Women of Northern Kentucky awards were announced this week.

Sponsored by Toyota, the awards celebrate women who have demonstrated leadership in their home, profession or community, according to a release. The Northern Kentucky residents must also display qualities of personal integrity, perseverance and leadership.

"It is so important that this program continue," said Helen Carroll, manager of community relations for Toyota's manufacturing headquarters in Erlanger. "This special recognition for women in Northern Kentucky is critical to the continued growth and encouragement of women to make a difference in our community."

Over the past 29 years, more than 140 women have been honored for services in the community or in their profession.

Below are the 2013 winners:

Lifetime Achievement: Sr. Margaret Stallmeyer
Outstanding Women of NKY: Barbara Moran Johnson, Janet Scanlon, Dale Silver, Karen Thomas, Rachael Winters                                             
The Henrietta Cleveland Inspiring Women Award: Mary Bunning

Northern Kentucky University, Thomas More College and Gateway Community and Technical College, along with Toyota, fund scholarships for female college students who exhibit the qualities of the honorees.

The 2013 scholarship recipients include:

Thomas More College: Tamara Taylor Pitts
Gateway Community and Technical College: Sara Marie Foster
Northern Kentucky University: Jeanne Coyle  
The awards will be distributed during a ceremony Thursday, April 11, at Receptions in Erlanger, Ky.  Doors open at 11:30 a.m. Tickets are $25 per person or $250 for a table of 10 and advance reservations required.

For more information on reservations call (859) 578-9720.

Print this article Back to Top