Severe Thunderstorm Watch issued for Tri-State until 8 pm

The entire Tri-State was under a Severe Thunderstorm Watch until 8 p.m. Sunday.

See the complete forecast for this evening into tomorrow here.

The following Tri-State counties were included in the Watch area:

In Kentucky: Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Gallatin, Grant, Kenton, Lewis, Mason, Owen, Pendleton, and Robertson counties.

In Indiana: Dearborn, Franklin, Ohio, Ripley and Switzerland counties

In Ohio: Adams, Brown, Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Hamilton, Highland, Pike, and Warren counties.

According to the National Weather Service that issues alerts and watches, a Severe Thunderstorm Watch is issued "when conditions are favorable for the development of severe thunderstorms in and close to the watch area. A severe thunderstorm by definition is a thunderstorm that produces one inch hail or larger in diameter and/or winds equal or exceed 58 miles an hour."

A Severe Thunderstorm Warning was issued for western Butler County in southwest Ohio and eastern Franklin County in southeast Indiana at 5:49 p.m. While it was expected to last until 8 p.m., it was canceled just before 6:30 p.m.

Here are some helpful links to prepare for severe weather:

Sign up for severe weather email and mobile alerts

LIVE interactive radar

Download the WCPO Storm Shield app (storm-based alerts for life-threatening weather events)

WCPO traffic updates

Latest power outages from Duke Energy

Flight cancelations and delays from CVG, other U.S. airports

Print this article Back to Top