Buddy LaRosa's High School Sports Hall of Fame names seven new inductees

CINCINNATI  - Seven new members have been chosen for the Buddy LaRosa’s High School Sports Hall of Fame.

The class of 2013 includes:

> Charlie Fredrick, Newport Central Catholic, 1955, star athlete, coach and athletic director;

> Vincent Harrison, Princeton, 1998, football and baseball;

> Adam Hyzdu, Moeller, baseball and football, played parts of seven seasons in the major leagues;

> Ron Masanek, Fairfield wrestling coach, 1965-present; teams won 23 league titles.

> Erin Phenix, Ursuline, 1999, won 10 state swimming titles and gold medal in 2000 Olympics;

> Derek Smith, Highlands, football, basketball;

> Brooke Wyckoff, Lakota, 1997, basketball star won nine varsity letters; and played in the WNBA from 2001 to 2009.

Inductees are chosen by a committee of coaches, former athletes and media.  New members will be inducted in June.

RELATED: Dennis Janson says LaRosa’s Hall of Fame is enduring Tri-State tradition

RELATED: See who has been inducted in the LaRosa's Hall of Fame since 1975.

Print this article Back to Top