The Behringer-Crawford Museum, which sits tucked away inside Covington's Devou Park, houses several exhibits that depict the history, culture and art of Northern Kentucky over the generations.
Ellis Crawford, the Behringer-Crawford Museum's first curator, had a passion for taxidermy. This is a Wapiti, or Eastern Elk, Crawford donated the museum.
Ellis Crawford, the first curator of the Behringer-Crawford Museum, oversaw many archaeological digs in Kentucky, including Big Bone Lick State Park. He helped pioneer the effort to make the park a national historic site.
WIlliam P. and Charles P. Devou willed their family estate to the city of Covington as a way to honor their parents. The Devou family home was turned into the Behringer-Crawford Museum which open in 1950.
The streetcar titled "Kentucky," which was built in 1892, was retired to the Behringer-Crawford Museum in Devou Park on July 3, 1850. It was the last public streetcar to be used in Northern Kentucky.
The taxidermy two-headed deer is one of the most iconic exhibits at the Behringer-Crawford Museum in Devou Park. This exhibit is composed of artifacts collected by world traveler William Behringer.
This saddle is a Civil War artifact that was donated to the museum.
This portrait is of Ellis Crawford, the museum's first curator, who oversaw high profile archaeological digs at Big Bone Lick State Park. He helped pioneer the effort to make the park a national historic site.
This framed box contains a hair wreath, which was a popular trend in the Victorian Age. Women often kept strands of hair from their brushes in a tin box that would be used to make a range of items from decorative pins to wreaths.