Amazon now charging sales tax in Indiana

a a a a
Share this story

CINCINNATI -- If you're looking to avoid paying sales tax while shopping online, your options are now much slimmer in Indiana.

Popular online retailer is now charging sales tax in the state as part of a law that could boost Indiana's revenue.

Amazon already collected tax in 16 states, including Kentucky. But with 2014, Indiana, Nevada and Tennessee have been added to the growing list. South Carolina will join them in 2016.

Ohio has not been added to the list of states where sales tax is required on purchases.

The new law hasn't happened without major pushback from Amazon and other online retailers, Yahoo News reports.

Amazon's warehouse expansions have given it a physical presence in more and more regions -- including Hebron, Ky. -- speeding up deliveries but also opening it up to taxes.

Items sold on and shipped to destinations in the following states are subject to the tax:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Georgia
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Massachusetts
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Copyright 2014 Scripps Media, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Print this article


Hmm... It looks like you’re not a WCPO Insider. or Subscribe now to contribute!

Market Summary
The Dow Jones Industrial Average SM is proprietary to and is calculated, distributed and marketed by Dow Jones Indexes, a licensed trademark of CME Group Index Services LLC and have been licensed for use. "Dow Jones(r)", "Dow Jones Indexes" and "Dow Jones Industrial Average SM" are service marks of Dow Jones Trademark Holdings, LLC. "CME" is a trademark of Chicago Mercantile Exchange Inc. All content of the Dow Jones Industrial Average (c) CME Group Index Services LLC 2010.